September 2017

Ana Berdinskikh received the Dorris Hastings International Distinguished Engagement Award to study BCS at the 2016 Critical Languages Institute at Arizona State University.

Carlotta Chenoweth spent the summer of 2016 conducting research in Moscow and St. Petersburg for her dissertation, “The Illiterate Text: Soviet Literature and the Aesthetics of Literacy, 1918-1928,” thanks to a Russian Studies Grant. In Fall 2016, she is a Digital Humanities Fellow for the course “Avant-Gardes and Émigrés: Digital Humanities Lab.” She was a Nina Berberova Fellow in 2015-2016.

Anastasia Kostina’s translation of the selected writings of Esfir Shub, the first Soviet woman filmmaker, was published in the Summer 2016 issue of Feminist Media Histories, a special issue on Found Footage: Women Without a Movie Camera.

Mina Magda received an ADSEEES Travel Grant to attend the 2016 national ASEEES Convention in Washington, D.C.

Ingrid Nordgaard was an Arnold Fellow in 2015-2016. She recently published “We have been traveling for weeks now” in Palimpsest: Yale Literary and Arts Magazine, and has a forthcoming publication in September 2016, “Documenting/Performing the Wounded Body: Pain and Agency in Works by Boris Mikhailov and Petr Pavlensky” in Contemporaneity: Historical Presence in Visual Culture.

Svetlana Tcareva successfully completed an internship at the State Literary Museum in Moscow in July 2016.  



September 2016

Anna Aydinyan (Ph.D. 2012): Tenure-track at Kenyon College

Alexander Brookes (Ph.D. 2013): Tenure-track at Memorial University of Newfoundland

Cassio De Oliveira (Ph.D. 2014): Tenure-track at Portland State University

Daria Ezerova (Ph.D. 2018): VAP at Davidson College

Fabrizio Fenghi (Ph.D. 2016) Tenure-track Brown University

Zakhar Ishov (Ph.D. 2016): Postdoc at Universitat Tubingen

Thomas Keenan (Ph.D. 2017): Slavic librain at Princeton University

Nicholas Kupensky (Ph.D. 2017): Postdoc at Bowdoin College

Amanda Lerner (Ph.D. 2018): Cyber intelligence analyst, Manhattan DA Office

Mihaela Mihailova (Ph.D. 2017): Postdoc at Michigan State University (Society of Fellows)

MViktoria Paranyuk (Ph.D. 2019): Pace University, Manhatten

Megan Race (Ph.D. 2018): Postdoc at Harvard Davis Center

Margarita Safariants (Ph.D. 2012): Tenure-track at St. Olaf College

Vadim Shneyder (Ph.D. 2015): Tenure-Track at UCLA

Raisa Sidenova (Ph.D. 2016): Lecturer (UK equivalent of tenure-track) at Newcastle University

Roman Utkin (Ph.D. 2015): Tenure-track at Wesleyan University